Winter 2012

(This program is part of the year-long celebration of John Cage and Julia Child’s 100th birthday anniversary [see Intermission] and is dedicated to the memory of Elliott Carter and pianist Charles Rosen, both of whom died in late 2012. The death of Elliott Carter brings to an end the personal legacy of two great American composers that began with Charles Ives, who mentored Carter, and extended for over a century.)

                                                         ‘MUSIC AND ‘REFRESHMENTS’


(click to buy)

(click to buy)

1.   Elliott Carter  Night Fantasies for Piano Solo (1979-80)   21:03

Charles Rosen – Piano

2.   John Holland  Cageiana for Fixed Media (2012)   2:43

(samples from John Cage’s Six Melodies for Violin and Keyboard (1950) No. 1 with Annelie Gahl, Violin, Klaus Lang, Fender Rhodes and Music for Amplified Toy Pianos (1960), Juan Hidalgo, Walter Marchetti, Gianni-Emilio Simonetti, Toy Pianos (with plastic cow); with hand-held percussion, nature sounds (bullfrog, yeast), and original electronic sounds by John Holland)

3.   Ludwig van Beethoven  String Quartet in B-flat major Op. 130 (including Grosse Fugue – the original final movement) (1825-26)  (57:03)

(click to buy)

(click to buy)

1. Adagio ma non troppo – Allegro  (13:33)
2. Presto  (1:53)
3. Andante con motto, ma non troppo  (6:25)
4. Alla danza tedesca – Allegro assai  (3:05)
5. Cavatina  (6:57)
6. Allegro  (9:28)
7. Grosse Fugue (Ovetura – Fuga)  (15:16)

The Melos Quartet – Hermann Voss, Gerhard Voss, Peter Buck, Wilhelm Melcher

Listen to

Winter 2012:

Comments are closed.